miscellanium: image of a man with curly black hair and wearing a suit with a blue shirt. he is covering his face with one hand in a classic gesture of exasperation (dane | facepalm)

dabney coleman's face here is how i felt watching this but man dane looked good. if only i could've had his arm around me for it lmao

the "is it worth watching this for lawrence dane" rating: 0.5/5


tbh this could easily be a zero but he does manage to salvage his role, which still isn't saying much, and in a way i feel like this film is worth watching once if only so you can re-evaluate your criteria for "worst fucking movie you've ever seen". my worst is still dreamcatcher because that one makes me so angry, but this one is basically a tie minus the rage reaction. this movie mostly just confuses me?

the plot: a reviewer from the globe and mail saved a synopsis of the plot for his last paragraph because "I don't know how to talk about it; a simple summary is going to sound like a personal attack on the screenwriter" and, yeah, fair. but here goes my attempt: a law professor (donald sutherland) learns about a development project nearby where native seals are being killed to clear the land for a future military base, and decides to embark on a legal crusade that takes him up against the american air force but mostly against the corporation contracted for the development. and somehow it's a comedy? a sex comedy at that. A COMEDY THAT SHOWS REAL LIVE FOOTAGE OF SEALS BEING BRUTALLY SLAUGHTERED WITHIN THE FIRST 20 MINUTES OF THE FILM.

oh man, you guys. jeez. this movie. it might have been a passable drama, especially with a big name like sutherland - when i saw he was the lead i was like "oh, ok, he was great in invasion of the body snatchers" and yet. he has zero charisma in this, zero chemistry with his co-star suzanne somers, and he mangles the delivery of most of the few jokes there are that i barely laughed at even when i was watching this the first time completely drunk. somers also was not funny - her character is supposed to be a lawyer but seems to be more interested in trying to bone than in doing her job, and it's just uncomfortable rather than endearing in any way. her mugging doesn't play well opposite sutherland's stiff acting; perhaps if the movie were a proper farce like "find the lady" her acting would have felt better suited. if i can't even laugh at a comedy when i'm wasted that's a bad sign. probably the fact that it opened with REAL ANIMAL SLAUGHTER was a mood killer, maybe? just maybe. hard to say. at least it never shows the footage again.

what's extra frustrating about this movie is that dane does a fine job with his role as the head/public face of the corporation in charge of the development. fortunately he doesn't show up until about 30 minutes in so he is not involved with the seal-clubbing footage. he's also very cute in this (i know i know i say this every time) and his character is super touchy-feely for some reason?? like i want to know if he was coached to do that or if he just decided this guy was gonna take every chance he could to touch his business partner, played by dabney coleman. (now there's an idea for a fanfic lmao.) if this had all simply...been in a different, less-terrible film.......

this movie was widely regarded as bad by critics at the time and is officially a box office bomb, but it was a tax shelter project so i guess the people in charge just didn't give a shit since they got to walk away with that bonus. this washington post review describes how lousy this is pretty well, setting aside the reviewer's weird sexism towards somers (though to be fair the script itself is really fucking weird towards her character), and closes with the only redeeming feature of this movie: "Overcompensating [for my intense dislike of Sutherland in this role], I developed a perverse affection for Lawrence Dane and Dabney Coleman as the corporate baddies. The quality of the roles aside, their teamwork certainly puts the stars to shame." they're honestly the best actors in this trainwreck, though there is a blink-and-you'll-miss-it appearance by a very young eugene levy. gary reineke (d.j. in rituals and he's also in the clown murders) has a couple scenes in this as a mildly amusing pompous air force officer, but the first time i watched this i was more tickled to see him in the same room as dane yet again - if only at the very end of the movie.

another review, this one from the new york times, also praises dane lol. that's generally the pattern with the contemporary reviews i've found - either they don't mention him because they're too busy being appalled by everything else, or if they do mention him they're complimenting him like he's a drink of water in the middle of a desert. which is totally what it felt like every time i watched this. the garden-variety 1970s-style casual racism towards native americans doesn't do the film any favors either, but there's not too much of it, i guess....

yeah, i watched this more than once. why? i wanted to watch it sober to see if i was just too drunk to follow it or something and no, it was that bad. and then another time because i needed an objective third party to confirm that i'm not crazy and this movie is just incredibly fucking bad. but! i put together a video that only has dane's scenes so i no longer have to suffer through the rest of it. you can view it here.

and i guess that's enough about how bad this movie is, lol, let's look at how cute dane is instead.

highlight: he looks so good in that tracksuit i hate this *puts his fingers in my mouth*

 
 
 
miscellanium: an array of colorful typewriters (typewriter tip tip tip)
i completely unintentionally backdated my most recent post, lol, because i never changed the date from when i first started composing it. so yeah if you're curious about some of the behind-the-scenes stories/viewpoints of people involved in the production of rituals (1977) i shared some interviews! don't worry, i haven't forgotten about making a post for the seal-clubbing comedy. it's happening, though i did conveniently become sidetracked by a short film mai zetterling directed that stars lawrence dane - i'll save the details for an individual post, but i captioned the whole thing mostly by myself and that sure was a little journey.

i've joined a discord server of david gale fans, and it's been...interesting, since i'm the oldest person there by far lmao. i'm not getting too involved though - just hanging out there for the archival work being spearheaded by this one fan who runs the davidgalearchive account on tumblr. they also have a dedicated youtube account that i've been meaning to trawl though, and it's made me wonder if i should do the same for my dane video clips. i don't have as much that needs public archiving, i think....

idk what it is about me that swings between craving internet interactions versus retreating from almost everything sometimes, but i'm looking forward to my upcoming time off as a mental reset button.

i'm also looking forward to seeing a story of mine in print! again, technically, but the last time i went through a formal submission process was in 2015 so.... after about two weeks of revising and editing at a breakneck speed i think the editors and i have arrived at a version that's ready to release into the world. it'll be in the january issue of OFIC magazine and i'm excited to introduce more people to my fucked-up horrible little priest man. who is over six feet tall but y'know. he's doing his best, ok? (and someday i'll finish the high school teacher au story i've been picking away at with the intention of getting it published....) i'm planning on writing more about the whole experience with OFIC after i have the physical thing in my hands, so if you have any specific questions you want me to address in that post just drop them in the comments here.
miscellanium: still of lawrence dane as mitzi in rituals (1977) (rituals | put us back together again)
a while back i got my hands on a 2009 issue of rue morgue mazagine where rituals was featured on the cover - the theme of the issue was vhs movies, and an american distributor was also doing a publicity push for its then-upcoming dvd transfer of the film. i finally got around to scanning it, with thanks to [personal profile] pendulumscale, and it really is a treat of a feature. interviews with dane and many other people involved - ian sutherland, the writer; robin gammell, who plays marty; hal holbrook, harry; ken james, abel; gary reineke, dj - with thoughtful framing and questions by john bowen. the director died suddenly in the 80s so instead of his comments we get people reminiscing about what it was like to work with him.

the scans are a bit hard to read because of the graphic design choice to make it look like it was printed on aged paper - i promise it's not hard to read in person - but i still wanted to make them more accessible to other fans and researchers so i've uploaded them here. if you're into older horror films the "video nasties" bit is also a fun read, as is the rest of the issue, but you'll have to find your own copy to read the non-rituals stuff, sorry!

(the folder with the pdf also includes a couple pages of another interview with dane and sutherland from a different rue morgue publication, this one printed in 2015 and accessible here in its entirety. there's also a neat little look into the production from the art director. it's interesting comparing some of the answers to the same questions several years apart...)

in response to being asked why he thinks rituals works so well as a horror movie, dane said: "That film has a life of its own, and even though it was stifled for a while, it seemed to resurrect itself in the hearts and minds of a lot of people. Rituals has a natural, visceral honesty about it, and I think that's important - that makes it easy for an audience to suspend disbelief and get involved." a natural visceral honesty.... that's exactly what it is i like so much about the movie.

discussion of the 2009 interview below the cut )
miscellanium: b&w photo of lawrence dane editing the 1977 film rituals (dane | and when we're middle-aged)

something about this makes me think of, like, paintings depicting the christian annunciation

the "is this worth watching for lawrence dane" rating: 3/5

the plot is pretty straightforward: he plays a lawyer for a mobster that the group are trying to take down and the group decides to exploit the lawyer's resentful wife as a weak link by forcing her into rehab and impersonating her.

there's no cold war wackiness in this one (meaning the obligatory xenophobia is also lacking, though there is one very strange racist exchange during one of the therapy scenes) but there's plenty of other absurdities that make this fun to watch - magical rubber masks, for example, and truly bizarre cutting-edge 1970s "group therapy" sessions - and the main actress, elizabeth ashley, who you might recognize from her later role in the nic cage feature vampire's kiss, gives us just the right amount of melodrama called for by the premise. honestly she carries this episode by playing dane's alcoholic wife - dane does a solid job, and his approach to method acting really shows in some places, but he's a bit hamstrung by the vague accent he's putting on. generic "american tough guy", i think, and it's not usually distracting but there's a couple scenes where it doesn't do his delivery any favors. shame, because dane really has what it takes to play sympathetic bad guys/antagonists. so this doesn't rate as highly as his
commandante episode but he gets to do much more here than just looking cute in the survivors, and the stuff with ashley's character is compelling enough to make sitting through the other dane-less scenes worth it. unfortunately (or fortunately) dane isn't in any of the therapy scenes.

it probably is worth warning for domestic violence, however - there's one scene where he slaps her without any warning and both of them do a great job with it but that might make it harder to watch for some. and then she's forcibly manhandled by a few different people, sometimes for restraint or forced institutionalization and sometimes as part of the really strange therapy sessions lol, and there's a scene or two where she throws and breaks things.

yeah yeah i called dane's character sympathetic but he's a wifebeater, cancel me, etc. my policy is generally "if someone lays hands on you irl then leave them asap" but in fiction it can be a little different. what i mean is that you can see the conflict in his eyes and dane sells him as someone who was a good husband, once, but the narrative has decided he's irredeemable. this makes the ending more upsetting to me than i think they intended, honestly, because yeah he dies (not really a spoiler with his track record let's be real) and she has no idea, she's just being forced back into rehab when he gets murdered and the mission impossible crew doesn't seem to really be thinking about her psychological welfare at all. what kind of support is she going to have when she gets out? could he have been a good husband again, if they'd been able to escape the mob he'd gotten involved with? we're not asked to consider that at all but i really feel as though dane plays him as though he had the potential. how much of that is his performance and how much is me just being biased because it's dane, idk, but it makes the story of this more interesting than a lot of mission impossible episodes (imo).


highlight: going through these caps made me realize he has a scar on the right side of his upper lip, almost like my oc....

i'm not positive whether it's REALLY good makeup or an actual scar - it's hard to tell if he had it in the 1967 episode since that one's pretty dark. a damn shame the film quality for rituals is what it is because i could compare some of those lovely closeups.... i didn't adjust the color/light on this or any of the following screencaps btw


'she's muh WAHFE' and he's my wife. mwah )




if i had to rank his three mission impossible episodes in terms of rewatchability, i think it'd go commandante, the survivors, then this one. not because his performance is lesser (in the survivors he's mostly standing around being adorable lol) but because it's a little hard to watch just for fun. granted, the imperialist gaslighting in commandante is also a boner kill, but he's having so much fun with the role it's easier to ignore the upsetting aspects of that episode. that said, if you chose to watch only two i'd insist you skip the survivors and watch this one along with commandante. you get to see him do way more here and regardless of whether you think he does a good job or not the rest of the episode is quite the experience.


bonus:
his height makes this car look like a clown car LMAO


miscellanium: dean, castiel, and sam walking down the street - from 5.18 point of no return (spn | everybody's talkin')
still deciding how i want to use [community profile] angelfeast moving forward but i've gone ahead and made a post about a recent ao3 exchange now that all authors have been revealed. i should probably delete or redo the pinned masterpost (it hasn't really been touched since the comm was imported to dw, lol) but that's not a big priority for me, mostly because ao3 functions as my archive rather than dreamwidth. i do want to eventually get more of my mixes off the graveyard that is 8tracks and hosted here instead but again, priorities. do people really do fanmixes anymore? and i think i'll make more icons for myself some time soon and post them there - several of the ones i have on this account are imported from my old lj, so.... i don't really have any fannish attachment to spn anymore, for example, though the icons are still pretty!

talking about ao3 vs dw reminds me: i read an interesting post a few days ago about the decline in activity for comms versus the heyday of livejournal and i'm still mulling it over. it's from 2018 by [personal profile] muccamukk and you can read it here: "How Dreamwidth today is different from Livejournal fifteen years ago." the comm part isn't their focus but it caught my attention since that's something i've been thinking about with the current twitter chaos and related discussions about other ways to connect/network with likeminded creative people.

the point about personal journals being where a lot of fandom activity is these days sticks out to me because that's actually one thing i don't like about tumblr, how everything is thrown together. people talk about wanting a more decentralized internet experience again but that has to start at home, doesn't it? so there has to be a conscious effort to get fandom activity onto comms again rather than leaving it mixed in with everything else on your personal blog. i'm kicking around ideas of what to do with [community profile] hellsing now that i'm the admin but whatever i do can only go so far without other active participants, so we'll see how that little experiment goes.

i know, i know - doesn't my daneposting on a personal journal put the lie to my complaints about mixing everything together? well, it started as incentive for me to use this journal again so there's that, but also it's not the kind of material that belongs in a fanworks comm (imo) and it certainly isn't something worth making a new comm for. it's not that i think people need to hypercompartmentalize their interests or whatever, but if you're interested in joining/building a community based on shared interests then using/creating a social hub for that purpose makes more sense to me. if i knew, say, five people who were also interested in daneposting then a comm might be appropriate but since it's really just me and the people who indulge me.... and if you're not interested in the community aspect of fandoms then obviously what i'm talking about here doesn't apply to you. there's nothing wrong with more solitary fannish experiences, especially given the minefields that a lot of contemporary fandom circles have become.

the comments on that post mention fake cuts, which i remember and did use, but i do think it depended a lot on the fandom. in tenipuri or playthedamncard, for example, a lot of discussion took place in the comm itself. most of the fic written by people in rahmbamarama was posted directly to the (locked!) comm. spn fandom had a lot of fake cuts and you can see from the imported posts in my fanworks comm that i posted fics there rather than to the relevant comm. but spn comms were still important as a social/discussion hub, even if they sometimes functioned more like the newsletters mentioned in the comments. i'll admit to not having yet taken the time to really go through the comments yet since i've mostly been using dreamwidth at work while waiting for things to scan like i'm doing now, orz, so do please let me know if you dig in and find anything you think i should read!

p.s. i went ahead and closed the poll in my previous post because for a while there it was a three-way tie and i didn't want that to happen again, lol. next chance i get to sit down for a screencap session it'll be the mission impossible episode and then, based on the level of interest expressed in the comments, after that post is done i'll finally focus on the seal-clubbing comedy. feel free to interpret that as either a promise or a threat.
miscellanium: (midnight mass| by the light of the night)
i just wanted to try out this feature since i don't remember anything really like it when i was on livejournal. (a quick internet search shows an lj news post from summer of 2009, so it had barely been rolled out before i stopped using the site lol.) it's okay if nobody votes since i'm mostly just tickled by the novelty of this and want to see what it looks like on my page, but without any other input i'll probably go with whatever i watched earliest and haven't posted about yet. not saying which that is so you can vote with your hearts uwu


Poll #27848 next dane review
This poll is closed.
Open to: Registered Users, detailed results viewable to: All, participants: 7


which review should i stop procrastinating on?

View Answers

nothing personal (1980; excruciatingly unfunny movie but he's quite attractive in it unfortunately)
2 (28.6%)

mission impossible: encounter (1971; he dies again in this one.... a solid performance otherwise)
3 (42.9%)

good idea/find the lady (1975 and 76 respectively; modestly-entertaining low-brow comedies and he's very cute)
2 (28.6%)

(fwiw, the last two are combined because he's only in the last 30 minutes of the first comedy. find the lady features him in a leading role as the same character from the first)

if you're genuinely interested but would prefer to nominate something else i've watched from the masterpost just drop a comment below.


miscellanium: photo of lawrence dane from 1973. he is dressed in formal wear and making an animated expression, in the middle of cheerful conversation (dane | the passion of love)
baby boy. baby.

the "is it worth watching this for lawrence dane" rating: N/A


what's this, you might say, not applicable?? how is that possible? well, this educational film isn't even half an hour and his appearance is within the first five minutes, so if you're watching it for him you can tap out almost immediately and i feel like that doesn't really lend itself to a rating.

you can watch it for free
here (no cc/subtitles) and i isolated his scene here (barely more than a minute, but at least youtube made an attempt with the autocaptions).

this is the earliest known
on-screen credit for him that i've been able to personally view. as far as i can tell thanks to the autocaptions, his character isn't named so i can only assume he's supposed to be an emissary of sorts from macdonald's government. the fellow they're talking to is george brown, an influential newspaperman, and there's a fun little write-up of this guy's history with john macdonald you can read here.

as for dane.... he would be approximately 24 here, depending on when it was filmed. a baby!! this would have been filmed not long after
the 1960 interview i posted about previously, and i wonder how he got the role - was it through connections, since the interview mentions he took acting classes from a different NFB director? attention after the interview was published? or it could have been an audition that he landed through talent alone. it's also interesting to speculate what he might have thought of the history being presented here, as a second-generation immigrant. judging by the emphasis he put on supporting canadian media and artists throughout his career, it seems reasonable to assume he would have been proud to contribute to this educational project. as far as i can tell it completely sidesteps the métis part of the canadian history equation, but....

at the moment i don't have much more to add about this one. it's noteworthy for being such an early role of his and he is, as usual, super cute. he has such an expressive face even when you can barely see it. not many screencaps this time so let's get into it!


the babiest of danes )

i'm still trying to get my hands on shadow of a pale horse, among other things *shakes my fist at the cbc researcher who hasn't replied to my last email a month ago* but it's still great to have this example of his early work, especially since some of the things he was in seem to be effectively lost media (never given a home release or it was probably taped over, since there was a lot of that in the 60s/70s unfortunately).
miscellanium: still of lawrence dane as mitzi in rituals (1977) overlooking a dramatic landscape (rituals | pray for us sinners)
and i'm bored during an online work meeting so here you go.

i don't remember how i came across this review for rituals but this person thinks that harry and mitzi knew each other since childhood. that doesn't seem right to me - hal holbrook was more than 10 years older than dane, and in the film harry seems to be the only one with any war experience and i think based on the age of the others they were too young for the korean war (obviously) or in school when the vietnam war was happening. canada didn't send troops to vietnam so the draft thing doesn't apply, but still.

the childhood misconception seems to be based on the scene(s) where harry and mitzi talk about their fathers, but it's not far-fetched to me at all that a group of middle-aged friends who went to college together would be aware of each other's families. i already gave their pre-film relationships a fair amount of thought for the fic so let me just lay some of that out here since i said i'd talk about the research background of my fic eventually anyway.

charlie day pepe silvia moment )

i want to write another fic for these guys eventually, so having a timeline is helpful for me even if it's not a granular one. thinking about crack crossovers helps me flesh things out a little more, and also it's just fun! all these doctors with dubious ethics.... let's put them through hell, lol. but herbert west clearly has no interest in learning from any of his mistakes, lmao, while mitzi's instinct seems to be more along the lines of cutting his losses and running. relentless pursuit versus self-defensive flight.... it's a dynamic i revisit a lot in fiction and for good reason.

anyway, ian sutherland really did a great job sketching out the characters and their relationships so i think if a person misunderstands something about the character dynamics they weren't paying enough attention, or jumped to a conclusion and didn't let later interactions change their understanding. and i'm not just saying that because i've watched it several times, i promise XD it's been a few months now since the last time i saw it, see, i can be normal about it! and besides i have to work on some other fics this weekend (ao3 exchange/zine deadlines) so a rituals rewatch will just have to wait.

*eta 12/1/22: gammell would have been around 40 or 41 when the movie was actually being filmed, since he's a few months older than dane (sept 1936 vs april 1937), but i feel like it's still reasonable to use the actors' ages for the other characters since we don't have anything else to go on. and also i don't think it makes a huge impact on my fic whether marty is older or younger than mitzi - they're very close in age and that's the main thing, imo.
miscellanium: drawing of a tired and sardonic-looking middle aged man with a scar up the right side of his face (i love god but he doesn't love me)
man, time goes fast when you're looking for a new job. still plugging away at that with the hopes of securing something new and being able to move by summer of next year. hoping that's a generous enough timeline to ensure some kind of success. in the meantime, i've been splitting my time between various pursuits. the kink bingo was a bust because i became too busy with other projects, though i'm still quite proud of the rituals fanfic that resulted from it. another story that was originally going to be a fill for both a kink bingo square and a "untranslatable words" bingo square became something i'm submitting to a lit mag so we'll see how that goes. editing that to make it stand on its own more took up a lot of time but i'm pleased with the results so far. whether it gets accepted or not i look forward to sharing it with more people!


i've also watched some more of dane's work, mostly stuff from the 1990s, and i'm still trying to decide what to write about next. i keep putting off reviewing nothing personal so i should probably prioritize that.... it's just painful to think about, lol. not because of him! he's objectively the best thing about it. just everything else is excruciating.


in the meantime i've been thinking a lot about david gale, of re-animator fame - i saw that movie for the first time recently and it made such an impression i had to watch it again with friends and then find the integral cut and watch that as well. david gale is a real show-stealer and the dynamic his dr. hill has with the iconic herbert west (played by jeffrey combs) reminded me so much of my oc's primary relationship that gale has almost become another stand-in for my oc, a bit like lawrence dane. nobody could replace dane for me, but it's a lot of fun digging into gale's history as well. it helps that there's other people who have already done so - there's an archive on tumblr dedicated to him so i don't have to do all the legwork that i've been doing for dane.


there's also just a lot more about gale out there, probably because 1. re-animator and several of the other horror movies he was in are generally considered popular cult classics, unlike most of dane's filmography, and 2. he seems to have been a more consistent actor. like, i love dane, but i'll also admit that he can be a bit unreliable when it comes to quality and that's likely part of why he didn't become more famous. it does make his good turns even more of a prize, but i digress. gale had more of a history of stage acting so that must have helped - he was even doing a theater performance the night he died, and i can't imagine being in the audience when he had a heart attack. it's tragic, but i've taken some comfort in the knowledge that his role in bride of re-animator was created specifically because he so dearly wanted to be part of the production and that he died doing what he loved. (i know, i know, but sometimes one can only resort to cliches.)


i don't have plans to actively seek out everything he was in (and it sounds like it'd be harder for me to even do so, since a lot of his earlier work was in soap operas that haven't been preserved. a damn shame since i would have killed to see him as a priest) but i'll get around to his other movies at some point for sure. savage weekend is top of the list since it sounds similar to the clown murders with the odd tension regarding what kind of movie it wants to be, and i'm intrigued by that. this review of savage weekend also piqued my interest since it was written by someone with similar priorities as me. lumberjack david gale is indeed very important! i'd also love to see the porn flick (!) that was apparently his film debut but as of this date it's still considered a lost film. at least we have the theatrical trailer, and i will confess to slowing it down in order to verify that it is indeed him with the naked rear mid-coitus at approximately 2:49. the 1970s were a wild time for filmmaking, for better or worse, and i'm honestly grateful for the opportunities to watch the fruits of those labors even when they're rotten.


this weekend i'm taking some time off to finish an ao3 exchange fic that i procrastinated on really bad (it's due the 29th and i've written less than half of it...) and also just to recharge a bit because if i could simply quit my job right now i would. unfortunately i need money to live and support my spouse and cat children, so i can't do that. but what i can do is comfort myself in the metaphorical arms of lawrence dane's presence so one way or another i'll get some screencaps and/or scans together for a new dane post. i'll also catch up on my reading page here. until next time!
miscellanium: b&w photo of lawrence dane editing the 1977 film rituals (dane | and when we're middle-aged)
so i was poking around, as you do, and noticed that dane's wikipedia entry had a new citation. turns out someone clipped this interview from 1960 and generously made it public for all. i've re-uploaded it so there should be no questions about access.

i'm fascinated by his choice to switch from larry or lawrence zahab to lawrence dane (though by all accounts he still went by larry in non-professional settings) - most likely it was for a depressing pedestrian reason such as not wanting to sound too "ethnic" but i do wonder why dane of all names. sure, it sounds great, but where did that come from? i haven't located his answer to this question yet, but that's all right for now. he's zahab in the interview and he's adorable. he looks like a baby compared to how i know him best and he's only 22! when i was 22 i was wrapping up college (finished a year later than "normal" because i finished high school a year late due to a stint in hospital) and it doesn't seem like he went to college. it's both interesting and sobering to think about how much things have changed between now and then with regards to expectations around a college education. now you can barely do anything without a BA, but when he was a young man you could get by on experience alone. lots of people have remarked on this before in more eloquent ways so i won't get too deep into it, especially because you don't exactly need a rigorous higher education to become a fine actor.

the interview is so fun to read and there's quotes in there that show he was passionate about the state of canadian theatre and film his entire life, which i find very endearing. especially the part where he just whips out cash for a membership upon being told there was a fundraising effort for a professional theater in his home town of ottowa... baby.....

it also mentions that he played football, which i was quite surprised by for reasons unknown even to myself. i guess i don't usually think of actors as being athletes? or manual laborers, another thing the interview says he did for a while before really committing to acting. very grateful he made enough progress with his career to leave that behind. but i was intrigued by the football mention, especially since it named both teams he played for, and after some basic sleuthing i found a whole webpage dedicated to the canadian junior football league. i've linked directly to the page about the short-lived league specific to ottowa, but if you have an interest in football in general the rest of the blog seems worth perusing.

i want to highlight the two photos i found of him on that page; they're not nearly as clear as the adorable one in the 1960 interview, of course, but they're still very obviously him.




in this one he's number 48, if you needed the assistance; he's credited as zahab here, of course, and the same goes for the following image where he's number 50. he doesn't have the same wide grin but in a way that makes him more easily identifiable since you can really see his bone structure.





(idk why op separated the image from the text for this second photo but if/when i re-upload these to my personal website i'll join them up again. considering i was heavily inspired by cody nelson as a young fujin it stands to reason i should dedicate a section of my personal website to dane the same way nelson has space dedicated to a favorite actor of theirs. Anyway,)

i don't remember enough about amefuto from eyeshield 21 to speak to what the jersey numbers mean, though the 1960 interview says he played tackle for both teams. i also don't know enough about the culture of switching teams year to year.... the first one was from 1954 while the second is from 1955, meaning he would have been around 18 depending on when the west end cobras photo was taken (he was born in 1937). thinking about him being 18 makes me go insane so i won't dwell on it, though if the 1960 photo is anything to go by he was absolutely a little heartthrob. no wonder he had a reputation for being a playboy in 1976. okay i say little but you can clearly see how much taller he is than the other guys and the 1960 interview acknowledges this by noting how he's over six feet tall.

that brings me to something else i wanted to remark on: when describing him, the 1960 profiler makes a very strange comment. grantham says that "Virile roles suit [Dane] well" and then goes on to make this even weirder remark: "He can simulate a variety of racial types, too - North American Indian, Italian, Middle Eastern, Pakistani, as well as just Canadian." leaving aside the blisteringly obvious racism of using "canadian" as shorthand for "white", surely this local person knew he was from a lebanese family..... but, well, even decades later people could mistake him for italian lol. goes to show how race is fake and/or how the western concept of race vs ethnicity has been thoroughly fucked up, i guess.

anyway, i think it's extremely sexy of a cis man to describe another cis man as virile, regardless of whatever was intended by that. thank you for your service, ronald grantham! i'm also glad to have the description of his family situation because i was able to poke around and discovered that his father died very suddenly in 1954. the obituary mentions a brother that isn't named in the 1960 profile and idk what was going on with phillip. something for me to research another time! [2023 eta: philip/phillip died in 1957, which would be why he's not mentioned in 1960.] i can't imagine what it'd be like to have a parent die when you're not even 17 yet (dane's birthday was in april and his father died in january) but i don't know what his relationship with his father was like. he'd be from a generation where paternal intimacy wasn't really a thing, broadly speaking, and where men being vulnerable was generally frowned upon. even in the 1976 macleans profile it's other people who describe him as being emotionally vulnerable at all - he doesn't address it himself.

by all accounts he did all right for himself in his personal life, making and keeping friends and all that, and an interview in rue morgue magazine issue 96 makes it clear that he knew his passion project (rituals) had a dedicated fanbase. i'll talk about that interview soon - it's really very sweet and confirms a lot of things i'd been making educated guesses about. there's even more media out there i'm trying to get ahold of, but the 1960 profile is a wonderful find since it makes for a lovely bookend of sorts with the rue morgue interview.

this was a bit of a ramble but thanks for sticking it out if you made it to the end. and as always, let me know if you have any thoughts or questions.

miscellanium: b&w photo of lawrence dane editing the 1977 film rituals (dane | and when we're middle-aged)

if i could buy this photo it would go up on the wall with all my others so fucking fast

the "is it worth watching this for lawrence dane" rating: 3.5/5


yeah, it's mission impossible again, but dane plays the main antagonist this episode and he plays it well. this is right around the time he started really maturing as an actor and it shows; it's more than five years before he filmed rituals, so it's still not quite the best he could be but there's a world of difference between this and his performances in the virginian that would have been broadcast just a year prior.

the plot: the gang are tasked with sabotaging an anti-american communist movement in south america. lol. dane plays one of the leaders of this movement and he plays the role with great panache.

i don't formally subscribe to the auteur theory of filmmaking since i feel like it diminishes the amount of collaborative effort that goes into film/television, but actors like dane go a long way in demonstrating the importance of a decent director. i touched on this in my post about
dead on target - with a good director, he's absolutely phenomenal. with a crap director, it depends on the source material and/or his chemistry with the other actors. (so, for example, in the clown murders, he does well even though it was released the same year as his unfortunate turn in dead on target. the script of the former is pretty lackluster but he gives it a solid performance. is it because of the more serious source material, a pedestrian-yet-decent director, or something else? food for thought.) i think this is also when we see him finally internalize how to use small details to develop a character and act with his face/eyes versus acting with his whole body as though he were still on a stage. much as william shatner is a douchebag, i think people are a little too hard on him for his acting in star trek: tos - if he had acted like that on a stage at the time he would have been fine. the problem is that the television camera can get a lot closer than a theater audience, lol, so more nuanced performances are ideal for filmed productions.

the content of the episode itself is what lowers the rating; there is SO MUCH dane it'd merit at least a 4 (my heart and loins want to say a 5) but the rest of the episode is more cold war bullshit and boys dicking around with their toys, of course, made weirder by them putting leonard nimoy in yellowface. so on the one hand it's interesting since they've got two people who would be viewed as ethnic minorities by their dominant cultures playing different, more widely-demonized minorities (at the time anyway) in the same room, but on the other, man. yeesh. geez. all they really did to nimoy was make him squint and give him and dane different warmths of brown/grey to make him look more sallow and dane more ruddy in comparison, which is not as bad as it could have been, i guess, though it's still pretty fucking uncomfortable. at least neither of them is forced to ham up the accents - dane kinda tries to put on a vague latin-american accent but it's pretty half-assed and honestly i think that's for the best here, lol. i also love leonard nimoy so it's a little disappointing that this is the only episode where they share screen time.

mission impossible's handling of dane in general is a good illustration of how he was treated as ethnically ambiguous - he was considered "dark" enough to be pigeonholed into playing baddies, but if he made his hair straighter it was easier for people to believe he was "white enough" depending on the episode. (he was born to a lebanese family in quebec, and someone on imdb, discussing a 1975 movie where dane plays a character with an italian name,
wrote "Lawrence Dane is exceptional. He must be of Italian origins. Canada has a huge Italian population." and i find this very amusing.) this episode is one of the rare times we get to see his natural hair - we know he straightened it/used product to make it look less curly because in rituals it gets progressively curlier every time it's wet - and while he looks good no matter what i do think the wavy/curly hair is extra cute uwu

we get to see a lot of him in this episode and his body language is extremely sexy - swagger but in a way that feels comfortable, confident, not just posturing. he's in a well-fitted uniform and gets to play with a knife and has a lot of fun little details for the character. truly a pleasure to watch. the rest of the episode is okay. it's not as interesting as the one where the gang builds a fake submarine in a warehouse, alas, but there's enough dane (and nimoy!) content to get us through.



highlight: sir. sir. please. why did you put your hand there and shift your hips like that. sir. please



trying to pick screencaps that were actually useful or interesting and not just me being horny for him was so terribly difficult )


bonus: look at his goddamn body language in this otherwise entirely unremarkable establishing shot of him being driven back to base. as they say, king shit


 
miscellanium: b&w photo of lawrence dane editing the 1977 film rituals (dane | and when we're middle-aged)

the way this cage helps emphasize his lovely deepset eyes and that delicious nose..... mwah

the "is it worth watching this for lawrence dane" rating: 0.5/5

ok, admittedly i'm prejudiced since i've so far only been able to locate this on DVD and it has no closed captions, so i had no clue what they were saying and barely any idea of the plot beyond "middle eastern terrorists kidnap an oil company ceo but plot twist the ceo was working with them the whole time and then they murder him in literally the last five minutes and i have no idea if they ever explained why he was working with them", lol. the lead actors are very wooden, the pacing was strange, and i couldn't tell the blonde women apart lmao. judging by this person's review of the TV pilot/movie i'm not missing much by not being able to follow the dialogue.

but! dane is very cute, of course, since i'm of the opinion that he was most attractive during these years. it's... not his best performance, especially not his unfortunate introduction where his character is roofied and passes out - he hits his head on his dropped cup and i don't think that was intentional but the project was low-budget enough they had to keep the take, lol. i hope he was ok! or maybe it was supposed to be funny, since the "our man flint" films are supposed to be james bond spoofs....? it's not set up well enough to play as comedy, however, and i don't think there's a cultural disconnect here since there's definitely comedies from the '70s that hold up today. it just comes down to execution. he's not a bad comic actor when the material is decent, though i do think he does better with more nuanced or serious characters, so the fault here seems to fall pretty squarely on the director and/or scriptwriter.

speaking of execution.... yeah, i have no idea why he dies in this but it's not shocking since he dies in most of his filmography :') he does take an arrow to the knee, or close enough, and again i'm not sure that was supposed to be funny but i burst out laughing because without knowing the dialogue it's completely inexplicable and the pacing of the scene sure feels like something that'd fit better in a comedy.

i'm reluctant to assign this a zero because maybe the dialogue makes it a more amusing experience, since i imagine it's probably bad, and the cheesiness of it can be mildly entertaining. i've uploaded a video of just his scenes that you can view here (and i will grudgingly give thanks for the autocaptions youtube generated), and the usual screenshots are below. i haven't edited any of them.


highlight: he had a cane in this scene and it was sexy and the way he bopped the lady's gun with the barrel of his own was very cute

 
 

i'm planning on making other videos to compile his scenes in things not really worth watching otherwise. i was already working on one for the national lampoon movie but the program i was trying to use was not terribly cooperative. but i found out about clip champ and so far it reminds me a lot of imovie when i had to use a macbook during undergrad. i really liked imovie since it was easy to use for fanvids, so if clip champ keeps working well i might start making those again.
miscellanium: still of lawrence dane as mitzi in rituals (1977) (rituals | put us back together again)
so...in my last post i mentioned i was working on "an extremely niche fic for an obscure film many people have never heard of".... well, i finished it! and i've been experiencing the very particular flavor of embarrassment that comes when something speaks to you in a way that makes you feel exposed, like when you can't decide if you wish you could be a character or if you want to bang them. but it's been my philosophy the past couple years to fight that feeling and just have fun and be proud of what i'm making even if it's not perfect (embrace cringe, be free, etc) so i'm sharing this fic around.

it's on ao3 but i may do a kind of post-mortem of it on my fanworks comm in the near future. i remember really enjoying reading about some of the research that'd go into longer fics back in my supernatural days so it might be fun to do something similar, though i think my focus will be more on why the fuck did i write this LOL. world's first fanfiction for the film and it's porn. it's not what i would call a pure pwp, though, since i couldn't resist throwing in some character study/references to the film.

but anyway, if this is gonna be my niche, i gotta embrace it the same way i've been embracing my thirst for lawrence dane haha. will i write more about these characters? knowing me, and knowing i've been fixated on the film for five months now, yeah, probably. it's just a matter of time, same way it was with this fic, though to be fair this one is the result of a dare. and i've had a couple people on discord tell me they enjoyed the fic without knowing anything about the film other than what they read on wikipedia, which is as encouraging as it is flattering. (i did include a link to a little album of screenshots at the top of the fic so people could know what kind of faces to visualize if they wanted, haha.)

click on the image below or click here if you want to give it a shot! comments more than welcome on dreamwidth and/or ao3, of course.


miscellanium: all-caps text against a rainbow background reading "gay love pierced through the veil of death and saved the day!" (spn | gay love saved the day)
i'm at work and shouldn't be looking at dreamwidth but things are so slow right now.... dumping some things i found on my reading list so they're easy to find again at home.

eyeing some of the prompts over at this
"trans characters promptfest" - i've had some furibe bodyswap ideas before and there's a prompt for that kind of thing posted already. we'll see :3 the yugioh rarepairs minibang is gonna be a reverse bang this year, which should prove interesting. i don't think I've ever participated in a reverse bang before :0 and this "hungry ghosts" ao3 title prompt challenge sounds fun since it's based around writing something inspired by a randomly-assigned title from a horror anthology series. i know some people who might be interested so i'll make sure to tell them about it even if i don't personally participate.

tonight in my little hellsing discord server we're having our second "smut writing night" (not named by me, lol, but the person who hosted the first one) and i'll be using it to keep working on one of my kink bingo fills - can't wait to share an extremely niche fic for an obscure film many people have never heard of LMAO. started the fic during the last writing night and had a blast - kinda reminded me of the times i went to nanowrimo meetups on my old college campus with a friend. there's something inspiring about everyone all working on stories they want to tell and shooting the shit with each other between frenzied bouts of typing, haha.

(i say hellsing discord server but it's like 60% oc content and 40% hellsing discussion at this point lol. which isn't a bad thing! was just chatting with some people this morning about how they were shy to share their ocs at first but are glad they did, and even were inspired to develop new ones thanks to server discussions. it was a nice way to start the day.)

miscellanium: still of lawrence dane as mitzi in rituals (1977) overlooking a dramatic landscape (rituals | pray for us sinners)
the two-part review i posted of rituals isn't a true review in that i don't really go in-depth about the substance of the movie. but my spouse pointed out that i don't usually want to watch the same movie over and over, so that got me thinking.... it's not just horny reasons (though that's certainly an element, lol) and it's not an arthouse film like, say, the man who fell to earth, where there's many new details to pick out on every rewatch. of course i've noticed some new details, but after watching it around 10 times since march i can say that it's not nearly as richly textured as some of the other movies i've put on repeatedly.

i'm sure i've said this before but i have a special fondness for flawed stories, especially as a fanfic author, since the flaws mean there's more for me to analyze from both a narrative and a craft perspective. but that isn't really it either. i can think about a flawed story without rewatching it so much. after all, i've given decades of thought to yugioh: duel monsters (the original series) and haven't actually rewatched/re-read it very often.

like everyone who grew up with yugioh and still carries the original series in their heart, i was shocked to learn about takahashi's sudden death. the core messages of the original series resonated a lot with me growing up, and as cheesy as it might sound one of my first significant friendships was a direct result of a shared interest in yugioh. we grew apart a long time ago but i've seen comics from her online that acknowledge the connection we had, and it's touching to know that it made an impact on her too in some way. i wouldn't be who i am today without that friendship. this is part of why i love the arc-v spinoff so much too, since my favorite character in it wouldn't be who he is by the end if it weren't for the main character accepting him as a friend. takahashi's death still doesn't feel real - leonard nimoy's death hit me harder even though (or in part because) i'd been bracing myself for it - but the impact his story had on me has only felt more and more real in the days since.

so what does yugioh have to do with a relatively obscure canadian movie from the 1970s?
lots of thots )
miscellanium: black and white image of jon voight and dustin hoffman from the film midnight cowboy. voight is dressed like a cowboy with a black hat and hoffman is in all black. they are walking on a large metal bridge. (Default)
man. a lot of things have happened since the last time i was able to log in here. my spouse got top surgery (yay!) so i had to take off work and be their caretaker, which has been both good and bad. bad because i'm terrible at being a caretaker/house spouse lmao (i managed, tho, they're still alive) and good because i REALLY needed a break from work. i've been so stressed with covid and everything and then right before my spouse's surgery some people got it in their mind to harass me because i dared advertise an anthology i co-edited for a ship they didn't like. it's not my fault that student/teacher can be very sexy, and there wasn't anything in the anthology that would be illegal most places anyway. really feels like ye olde ship war just dressed up in weird holier-than-thou rhetoric. so i've been laying pretty low and staying off most social media, which has been very good for me mentally.

i've been participating in an oc exchange event (not artfight, it was formed as a response to harassment the artist skumsuck received at the hands of artfight mods) and doing a lot of little ficlets and some art. it's been extra nice this year since it's also how one of my most inspiring creative relationships got its start, so this year there's been some pieces acknowledging the anniversary of our ocs getting together, lol. i'm still intending on doing the kink bingo, but honestly i needed a break from fandom stuff after that harassment. and i'm still trying to be careful, so it'll probably be a little while before i return to writing for a specific pairing. i refuse to let bullies stop me, though! i've got a backlog of ideas just waiting to be written and posted >:)

what with taking care of my spouse and trying to wrangle three cats on my own when one hasn't been fully introduced to the others and just. everything. i haven't had much time for daneposting but i did get my spouse to watch "happy birthday to me" the other night and i'm def gonna write a post re-evaluating my opinion of the movie. much more enjoyable watching it with another person, haha.

not looking forward to returning to work next week but we need the money :/ grateful to have been able to use FMLA but it's still bullshit that doing so means a pay cut. you'd think that needing medical leave to care for someone means your full paycheck would be even more important than ever...... i would be so much happier if i could work part time with the same level of access to health benefits (or better, but let's start small) but i guess for the time being i'll just continue doing the bare minimum at work. they don't pay me enough to care more, especially not when i have an MA and the job description only needs a BA. at least it's a foot in the door because it'll be easier for me to be considered for another job within this agency when i have the chance.

anyway, hope everyone's been doing well. i might make a more specific post about the harassment later once i refresh my memory on how locked entries work, or i might just forget about it because it really shouldn't be worth that much of my energy.

ETA: i also started playing disco elysium! i gotta pick it back up but the writing i've read so far has been incredible. i would've gladly read this as a regular novel but the interactive element does really enhance the experience (and of course there are some truly phenomenal harrykim fanworks out there).

miscellanium: b&w photo of lawrence dane editing the 1977 film rituals (dane | and when we're middle-aged)


the "is it worth watching this for lawrence dane" rating: 2.5/5

it's not the worst movie he's been in, and there's no offensive humor that we're expected to find entertaining. the offensive statements/behavior in this come from people who are very clearly supposed to be unsympathetic characters, so it's not as painful as, say, the other john candy movies dane was in, or the almost surreal experience that is watching "nothing personal". he's in prime form here, unsurprising since this was filmed right before his work in rituals, and he gives a good enough performance - it feels authentic and honestly it'd belong better in a more traditional or better-written drama (like rituals.........) but he makes it worth watching this all the way through. ymmv tho, lol

the plot: this is a strange movie in that nobody's a clear contender for the viewer's sympathy - dane's character, philip, is arguably the best of the male cast because we never see him doing anything that's obviously an interpersonal dick move. sure, he's a developer/responsible for wrecking landscapes with architectural eyesores and he "took" someone's girl but it sounds as though his wife, alison, made the decision to marry him rather than stay with the ostensible protagonist of the film (who is frankly a douchebag). i'd say philip doesn't deserve what happens to him any more than your average land trader does, but really he doesn't have to go through much. it's alison that gets the brunt of it because, well, she's the one who's kidnapped and subjected to the threat of sexual assault. i think this movie would have been a lot better if she'd had more development, especially towards the end when she decides to sleep with john candy's character for completely unexplained reasons or when she's finally reunited with philip. this is a great example of a movie that absolutely fails the bechdel test, lol, and that's already a low bar - there isn't even another named female character in the whole thing! it's all about these very well-off cis white men and their heterosexual man pain.

i read this review before watching and i think it has some interesting lines (especially when discussing the aesthetics of the film).

Horror may pivot on ugliness and the monstrous, but the dull, beige-drenched vulgarity of The Clown Murders and the repugnance of its spoiled, petty characters is not such an exploration of the monstrous.
 
that said, i think the review's just a little more harsh than the movie warrants since it doesn't acknowledge the efforts of any of the actors at all. this movie had potential to be an interesting character study, i think, but it drops the ball with alison and when the whole story revolves around her, well.... that's not great.

side note: gary reineke is fun in this - he's good at playing sleazeballs. a very different character from dj in rituals, though; while dj's just an opportunist, rosie is a real piece of shit. thoroughly unlikable. but reineke brings enough swagger to the role that he's not unpleasant to watch.

highlight: i could be crass and post a gif of his tits bouncing when he runs in one scene, but i won't because i respect him. and his tits. anyway he was in a suit of armor at one point for a halloween party and i love the romantic fantasy potential of it. handsome bastard
 

 this is the best resolution available for the movie unfortunately )

miscellanium: still of hamish linklater as father paul in midnight mass. a moodily-lit scene of him facing the grille in a confessional. (midnight mass | for i am going to sin)
taking a page from [personal profile] minty_playhouse and making a list of the ideas i've collected so far so i don't forget! my card is here, but i've reproduced the list below.
 
miscellanium: an array of colorful typewriters (typewriter tip tip tip)
i'm excited for [community profile] seasonofkink since it reminds me a little of ye olde porn battles that [personal profile] oxoniensis used to host. not the same, of course, but the spirit is there. my card is up on [community profile] angelfeast and i'll start on it after this week i think, that and making progress on the other bingo i started. it's been such a long time since i really enjoyed writing so i want to take advantage of it while this lasts.

decided to go back and redo some of the screencaps for the clown murders but i don't mind too much since it means getting to see peak dane again. something about being 40yo was perfect for him....

i've also been contemplating re-arranging my home office. thinking about being able to invite people over again (with the proper precautions, of course) is making me antsy in a good way. i'm not very good at keeping up with things around the house if i don't have some kind of external deadline, so even if it's all hypothetical at this point it's still decent motivation. i mainly want to create a space where i have room for both my work station and my personal stuff without having to constantly move shit, as well as maybe a spot for cats to sit so they don't keep trying to walk on my keyboard(s), lol.
miscellanium: shingo sawatari looking smug with eyes closed; from the maiami championship duel vs yuuya (arc v | give me all good things)
big surgery was a success and i'm heading into week two of recovery. booyah, as i would've said in middle school. nearly done with the sakura exchange fic, i think - at least i should have something decent to turn in by the deadline.

working on a post for dane in the clown murders - what an odd movie. the screencaps have subtitles on them here and there since i was taking them during my first-ever watch-through, and i'm debating whether it's worth going back and redoing some without the subs. the video quality is pretty bad so it's not like hiding the subs would improve anything, i think. it doesn't get as visually dark/obviously damaged as rituals, but the transfer is so blurry it's clear this wasn't a movie people cared enough about to preserve in a higher resolution. i can't blame them, honestly, though it's not the worst movie i've watched for dane. solidly mediocre, which makes it a little difficult to decide on a rating, lol.

i need to catch up on reading my subscriptions here but i should wait until i'm not technically on the clock for working from home.

having a solid week off from work has done wonders for my mental health. if we could just have a four-day work week that would be such a long-term improvement!

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 03:07 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios