miscellanium: photo of lawrence dane from 1973. he is dressed in formal wear and making an animated expression, in the middle of cheerful conversation (dane | the passion of love)

legit one of my fav images of him - the framing is so interesting and also fuck he's super cute. so cute. also. the eroticism of that pose..... hfdhgfjkd


the "is this worth watching for lawrence dane" rating: 4/5

ohhh my god he is so young in this. this was made three years after "lion of quebec" so he wouldn't have even been 30 yet.... this is a short film, around 25 minutes, and he's what amounts to the lead character inasmuch as training videos can have a lead. he's super handsome and tall and he smiles a bunch in this and you can see him singing! in a group so you can't make out his voice, but still.... one point off since it's a video by and for cops - even worse, prison guards specifically lmao.

the plot: as noted above, this doesn't really have one in the typical sense. apparently it's based on a true escape story, according to a guy who worked on the production. we follow dane's character from intake through his attempts to ingratiate himself with the officers and then his escape. it's a bit funny how lax/incompetent the security would have been at the time compared to current understandings of prison practices, and it's interesting in a depressing way to see what hasn't changed at all.

at the time of my writing this post, "control of inmates" isn't listed on his wikipedia or imdb pages. but digging into the bowels of an internet search for larry zahab led me to that letter linked above and i knew i had to see if i could find it since the NFB also produced "lion of quebec" and the surprisingly good 1975 tv movie "the heatwave lasted four days". earlier this year i emailed them and did my best to describe the movie based on the information given in the guy's letter, and they said they had a 1965 police training film by douglas jackson under the title of "control of inmates". i promptly checked to see whether it had an imdb entry to potentially cross-check any acting credits and the answer was yes but the only credits are director douglas jackson and the narrator. since jackson worked with dane again for "heatwave" that made me sure this was the movie i was looking for. (heatwave will get a review eventually, don't worry lol.) still a bit of a gamble, though, so it was super exciting when the dvd arrived and i could prove myself right!! there were no actor credits in the film itself but my man is unmistakable.

highlight: waist................................. the only time i've wanted to be a cop


you can view a version with autocaptions here. and now for the selected screencaps! none of them has been altered.

since it's so short there's not a ton of screencaps here. could have done more but i did try to exercise some restraint. enjoy the treat! )
miscellanium: (wilde | when the ceremony starts)
i'm not a music reviewer by any means. in the past others have encouraged me to write about music i enjoy, since i do like reading reviews whether i agree with them or not - i remember spending hours on progarchives and places like this one guy's website where his rating system didn't use stars or numbers but something that iirc was derived from math or something? i can't find it again unfortunately* - and i'm also very interested in the history/production of a given album and following connections to find cool music by relatively obscure artists (bobb trimble, anyone?), but it's difficult for me to actually write my own reviews because, well... i know i'm not getting the same auditory information as most other people. but here's an unorganized attempt (pitchfork this certainly ain't) so let's see how it goes - aiming high by starting with steely dan even if it means retreading well-trodden ground lol.

apparently steely dan's discography has been experiencing a re-evaluation lately and i had no idea - only found out when i was browsing reviews of donald fagen's solo albums the other day and fell into a rabbit hole. (this brand-new book focusing on the characters in the band's songs sounds interesting and i'll have to see if i can get it from a library first or something - the illustrations are a cool idea, but the author's "don't do drugs, kids" comment at the end of the interview is annoying enough to make me not want to buy the book sight unseen lol.) i grew up mostly hearing about the band as a punchline the same way a lot of other '70s stuff was made into the butt of jokes during the 1990s/early 2000s and never actually listened to them until last year, entirely by chance. i asked my parents recently about their memories of the band and they both said that they remembered some songs being radio hits but didn't have strong opinions either way. they didn't have any of the albums in their record/cd collection when i was a kid even though they did have a fair amount of jazz music. at any rate i'm glad i finally introduced myself to steely dan - i've tended to prefer music with tightly-crafted lyrics that invite closer reading and/or are dense with references&meaning, and steely dan's work fits right in. distinctive voices also tend to feature a lot in my favorites and while i wouldn't put fagen on the same level as orbison/nilsson/mercury/darnielle/etc, he's still recognizable enough for me to hear 'I.G.Y.' on a recommended-for-you playlist and be like, huh, this sounds like steely dan and then look up the singer's name for an oh-shit moment lol.

my favorite of steely dan's albums at this point is the 1980 "gaucho" which, in addition to having a rather notoriously tortured production history, is apparently also their most divisive. some people feel it's too polished and/or too simple compared to earlier work... can't speak to the "polished" sound but if it is relatively simple then that's to its benefit imo - makes it easier to follow what individual instruments are doing so appreciation comes faster. wall-of-sound can be fun but it typically takes me several listens to figure out what i'm even hearing. (thinking about how long it took me to appreciate masato nagai's "wild drive"....)

thematically it feels like a spiritual companion to pulp's "this is hardcore" and that's probably why i'm drawn to it more than the other albums - i've been a big pulp fan for a long time and still go back and forth on whether i like "this is hardcore" or "we love life" best, but i've not found anything else that really reminds me of the latter. "gaucho" and "this is hardcore" have similar themes of dissolution and longing, with less defiance than in the earlier albums from either band. the songwriters for both tend to simultaneously make fun of and empathize with their seedy male subjects - but they're not necessarily asking the listener to sympathize. their lyrics are more aimed at reminding us that we're all capable of being terrible to each other in one way or another, and that beneath the fucked-up actions there's still a person there who's hurting. sometimes, anyway. other times it seems like they're just having fun writing about creeps, and i can dig that too! both titles are also almost concept albums, tightly wrapped around a unity of sound and theme that each band's earlier (or later!) albums don't quite have, which is another thing that makes the overall listening experience that much more rewarding imo.

steely dan continued to revisit these themes, of course - 'things i miss the most' from "everything must go" is a real fucking earworm with their signature sensitive-yet-sardonic lyrics - but "gaucho" as a whole is so laser-focused that it comes across like a collection of short stories by raymond carver with more of a sideways sense of humor. and i'm seeing now that there's some who class carver as "dirty realism" and that midnight cowboy is considered a great example of the subgenre, which tracks since i adore both the herlihy book and the schlesinger film.... i don't know if steely dan would fit the literary definition here but there's a definite throughline with regards to subject matter that i find interesting.

anyway, back to the music: this is a short album, easy to listen to all the way through in sequence as intended, though i can also understand why people might not enjoy that experience much. to continue the short story comparison, it's a bit like flannery o'connor - great in individual doses, but if you sit and read a full collection of her in one go then you might find it a bit repetitive after a while. (not my personal opinion! one i've seen other people express, though, including people whose opinions on writing i tend to respect even when we disagree.) so imo if you only listen to one from this album, make it 'hey nineteen'. i'll talk a bit about each track below, including why that one is my favorite.

you gotta shake it )
miscellanium: (ygo dm | child at heart)
thanks to [personal profile] pendulumscale & [personal profile] tempural & [personal profile] kradeelav for getting me thinking about these questions!


1. How long have you been in fandom?
oh jeez, depends on how you define "fandom" but i would say since starting middle school? so about twenty years, dang. when i was in elementary school and writing fanfic for pokemon i didn't share it with anyone besides my family lol and i don't remember reading fanfiction (not sure i even knew it existed as a Thing tbh) so i'm not going to count that.

2. Which fandoms are you in now?
can i count my little cult for lawrence dane as a fandom? lmao. hellsing is one that i've most recently been active in, and i still have ideas for things i want to do there, but i've pulled back a lot from trying to engage with the wider english-speaking fandom since it's a fucking mess. ygo arcv has its weird thought police but in my experience they haven't been as bad, which is a bit ironic considering that arcv's meant for a younger audience and hellsing most decidedly is not. ah well. still consider myself currently in the arcv and dm fandom, albeit more on the inactive side. if i listed ones i'm not presently active in but still interact with i'd be here forever. i've also been doing a lot with one of my own ocs, since i adopted him out of hellsing and gave him a backstory where he literally had nothing and so on.

3. Do you create transformative works (fic, fan art, podfic, etc.)?
fic, art, fan soundtracks, yeah. Back In My Day people put time and effort into making covers and tracklist graphics for their mixes!! dang spotify ruining everything. when i was in high school it was a pretty even mix of fic and art but since finishing undergrad i've mostly been writing. i keep meaning to pick visual art back up....

4. What was your first fandom?
yugioh is the fandom that won't die for me, or my bedrock fandom as i've seen [personal profile] tempural put it - dm and then arcv specifically. my level of activity in a given media might wax and wane but if it hooked me then the interest never fades. i don't understand how people can be super into something for a month or a year then just move on. like, i'd probably still be writing prolifically for arcv right now if i hadn't had a lousy experience with the big bang that some fans tried to run back in uhh 2017? killed my motivation to write for a while but my love for the series never faded.

further rambles )
miscellanium: excerpt of a larger illustration of dr hill from reanimator about to assault dr west (instead of meg) (reani | always admire beauty)
in my hellsing server we were discussing the possibility of watching the polish film "hellhole" (2022) together so i checked to see if it was available anywhere or whether it'd need torrenting, and learned that there was a 1985 film with the exact same title but a wildly different plot summary. my partner and i decided to watch it because we were both intrigued by the outrageous premise and also the fact that one of the characters was played by a famous ex-evangelist preacher (i want to see the documentary about him, "marjoe" from 1972) and boy oh boy what a ride.

i've watched a couple exploitation films before but i feel like i'm never prepared for the reality of them, lol. the true star of the movie imo was ray sharkey playing an Evil Leather Punk who went by the nom de guerre of silk - he was so fucking funny and over-the-top he made even the relatively boring parts of the movie worth it. (i'm sorry, as somebody who's mostly interested in men i'm very particular about the type of woman i find attractive..... if you like seeing lots of conventionally attractive women get in fights, naked or otherwise, and have erotic drug-taking scenes together then this is the movie for you by a mile.) i say "relatively" because tbh i found the whole thing fascinating in an anthropological way, but idk if it's a movie i'd recommend unless you also enjoy watching exploitation movies for what they say about the people involved in the production. it also has vibes of re-animator and i was amused to realize they came out the same year. it'd be interesting to read an argument connecting movies about medical malpractice vis-a-vis innovation to the visibility of the AIDS epidemic in the 1980s.

i want to see the other things sharkey was in now because he was incredible. marjoe was good too, though his performance was more restrained than sharkey's (which isn't saying a lot tbh but he played it more normal). every time they said his character's name, dr. dane, i had to do a mental double take haha. i also liked mary woronov - she has a very striking face and she owned the role she was given. it was fun discovering i'd seen her before in "the house of the devil", though she would've been much older in that one. i'd like to see more of her movies some time when i have the chance.

speaking of movies, though, i want to do another danepost soon. i think it'll be bear island, since that was on the last poll, unless people would prefer to read about the national lampoon movie.... or i might do the "control of inmates" short since i might already have all the screenshots necessary for that. if you have a preference for some reason, let me know in the comments!
miscellanium: (midnight mass | leave the flowers&beauty)
earlier this month my partner and i managed a cross-country move - driving three days with three cats.... really do not recommend doing this unless you have to lol. but we all made it to our new apartment in one piece. my first week at my new job was really hectic but i'm enjoying it so far. from the sound of it this next week will be more normal now that a big site event is over with - they wanted me to start at the beginning of the month but that timing just wouldn't work for me.

i haven't been able to engage in my hobbies much with all the packing/driving/unpacking/new job orientation stuff but yesterday i finally got my pc unpacked and set up with a fancy new monitor to replace the one i had to leave behind. everything seems to be in good shape so far! and while i was in the middle of a move i got an email response from the PR person for the organization that runs what used to be known as the genie awards - they're willing to give me reproduction permission for award ceremony footage where the LAC description makes it sound like dane gave a presentation. this is exciting for me since i've yet to see video footage of him just being himself. i do also have permission from the CBC to get a copy of a brief sit-down interview he did with a local tv station in the 1980s but i haven't put in a request for that yet with the moving and everything. now i have my new mailing address and things seem to be arriving here with no problems so i'll act on that soon.

i'm stll catching up on a lot, including dreamwidth, but the more things we manage to unpack the more time i have to just chill and do my thing. i'm enjoying new hampshire so far, partly because i really missed being around mountains and also because it is not going to be nearly as hot here as it was in the midwest. even with climate change it's not as bad. the cats like it here too. we're using a projector instead of a TV now and one of them keeps wanting to climb on the platform, so we'll have to figure out a way to stop him....

the other night we watched "magic" - the 1978 film with anthony hopkins - and it was an interesting experience. i had more fun watching "the italian connection" from 1972 with my father when he was here to help us move in, even though the structure of that one was a little confusing to me at first. the hopkins movie had some great performances but a weak script imo - mostly hamstrung by the fact that the female character didn't really have any kind of interiority. an example of the male gaze in the original sense of the theory, where she's just there for the men to act their desires upon. a bit disappointing with the pedigree of the screenwriter but it was still fun to see hopkins so young when i only know him from his more recent work, and again the performances from hopkins and the supporting cast were quite strong. (i was very excited to recognize david ogden stiers in a brief appearance lol, and burgess meredith was a pleasure to watch.) i also dug the aesthetic, of course. "the italian connection" was an engaging character study and it had a couple truly nuts chase sequences - i can totally understand how it's a cult favorite. it was kinda funny tho since the female characters in that are also pretty limited development-wise (one's dialogue was mostly about how she's a "whore") but they're still given more to do than ann-margret in "magic". all in all a movie i could see myself rewatching.

baked some beer bread earlier with a local ale even though it's hot today and it turned out nicely so i'm gonna kick back with something cold and play some eso until the place cools down haha. hoping that soon i'll have the mental energy to write prose again!
miscellanium: still from the virginian: journey to scathelock. a man with a mop of wavy dark hair is wearing a bandolier over a pinstriped shirt. he is looking at the viewer with a slight toothy smile. decorative stars have been added around his head. (dane | trail of broken hearts)
huge huge HUGE thanks to [personal profile] tempural for helping me troubleshoot the video embed coding in this!


(happy pride demon month, here's a new round of homosexuality from yours truly. i even made a new icon for the occasion <3)

the other day i had the bright idea of searching the wayback machine for "lawrence dane" - i've searched the internet archive's website on a regular basis but never thought to do a text search in the wayback machine itself, and was curious whether i might be able to find anyone else talking about him on old sites. (when i explained this to my partner they laughed and were like "no, i think you're the only one who's ever cared this much" lol.)

the first result for my search was lawrencedane.com which would have been quite the coincidence if it wasn't him - going through the site captures it became clear the domain had been taken over by spam squatters before going down entirely, so i went back to the beginning. the domain was registered in 2002, and an early crawl revealed that it had indeed likely been his personal website. but it was mainly based on flash, so i couldn't view it on a regular browser - my only confirmation was a string of text at the bottom of the broken content that read "photo gallery / credits / biography / contacts / what's new".

after some trial and error that night i got the archived captures to be functional! i tried the ruffle extension and it worked long enough to load the home page and verify it as dane's site, but refreshing the page somehow broke the extension so i had to use a portable flash-friendly version of firefox kindly shared via reddit here. that worked much more reliably and i was able to take screenshots of a 2003 crawl - and record the flash animations, lol.
(you can turn off the loop if enabled with a right click, or view a still image here. the video appears a little small here because i had to fight with dreamwidth to get the embed working, so the screenshots represent the dimensions of the site more accurately. you can also open the video in a new tab to view it at the correct scale.)

further documentation and discussion behind the cut )
miscellanium: b&w photo of lawrence dane editing the 1977 film rituals (dane | and when we're middle-aged)
 [this is what i've managed to gather so far from various newspaper findings and other public records - it's entirely possible there's more comprehensive information out there in resources i haven't been able to access yet (toronto public library...let me in.......) but for the time being this is the best i can provide. some biographical basics were already covered here with a discussion of a relatively in-depth profile from 1960, and in my introduction post for him here, so will try not to re-tread those too much. if there's access issues with the newspaper.com links or other difficulties i can re-upload the news items elsewhere so please let me know if that's needed.]

 
dane’s talked about how he was encouraged to perform from an early age, and a news item from 1949 shows that his father, joseph michael zahab, was active in local societies while also running the family grocery store. with this level of community involvement it makes total sense that dane’s family would support him in local theater and the like. while joseph zahab et al were catholic - his funeral service and burial were on catholic grounds and multiple family members were associated with the same church or other catholic churches - this didn’t necessarily get in the way of business. mr. zahab was convicted and fined for selling soda on a sunday in 1940! 45 armstrong street was the address of the grocery store, so there’s no doubt here that this is dane’s father. i’ve yet to see any mention of familial disapproval of a given acting role, even after the sponsorship-pulling controversy with his first major role in “shadow of a pale horse”, and the consistent support isn’t surprising if mr. zahab was willing to violate a christian law for practical reasons lol.
 
(side note: there was at least one relative in this branch of the family who fought in world war ii and was held as a prisoner of war in 1942. joffre was a paternal uncle of dane’s - a son of his father's sister, per this 1926 obit for the sister. dane would have been only five years old or so, too young to really be aware, but it’s still interesting to think about the potential impact on his household. joffre survived the war, received decorations for his military service, and was buried in ottawa in 1982.)
 
with this family commitment to community engagement and the expectations for men at the time it naturally follows that dane would have been encouraged to do sports. there’s the football i addressed in that earlier post, but i also found that he played softball and was on a championship-winning team when he was 12! (reproducing this clipping below, link is just so you have the source newspaper)
 
 
hard to believe this little kid becomes over six feet tall in just a couple years omg. but he's already recognizable here with that smile....
 
the obituaries for dane’s father describe him as dying suddenly, but i wonder if he wasn’t already ailing some since in an interview promoting “only god knows” in 1974 there’s a passing mention of how dane quit high school at 16 to help run the family store. he would have been 16 in 1953, and his father died in 1954. it's possible that he didn't drop out until after his father died, since that was in january before he would have turned 17, but i have not yet found something that confirms whether he dropped out before or after the death. (that interview clip gives me rabies in a good way because the descriptions of him are incredible, lmfao, also because he says he hated being both actor and producer but then he turned around and did it again with “rituals” just a few years later…. and the anecdote about him falling asleep in a restaurant…. baby……. Anyway,)
 
supporting his family didn’t take all of his time, though, since he still found opportunities to stay involved with local stage acts. even if he dropped out of school he stayed connected enough to become manager of a group of singing high schoolers in 1955 while also playing football on championship-winning teams in 1954 and 1955. the 1960 profile mentions that he was president of a school community center as well.
 
in 1957 he lost an older brother. three years after his father died and on april 16 too, not long after his birthday. only 30 and a “long illness” - i wonder if it was some kind of cancer. theoretically possible that it was related to pancreatitis, since that can start in one’s twenties, but considering how much dane smoked i suspect that his own cancer diagnosis had little to do with inherited risk.
 
the 1960 profile says he started formally acting in 1958 and by 1959 there’s an independent record of him acting on stage - he’s not in either photo available on the theatre’s site but it looks like a wild production! hope he had fun. it also seems that one of his first screen roles was in a 1959 episode of "the unforeseen", which was apparently a canadian take on the twilight zone, but i haven’t yet been able to locate any copies of the episode in archives. it doesn’t seem as though LAC has it, since they list a handful of other episodes but not that one. (if i’m wrong pls lmk! i will also consider reaching out to the cbc again.)

at some point between 1957 and december 1959 he did manual labor in detroit for some extra income while starting his career as an actor, per the 1960 profile, though i haven't been able to identify any record of official border crossings. border control was a lot more lax back then, especially if it wasn't part of a formal immigration process. this part of his life hasn't come up in any later interviews with him that i've found, so most likely it was a short stint that didn't leave a lasting impression years down the line. maybe seasonal work of some kind?
 
then, of course, in 1960 he splashed onto the scene with his lead role as the young man accused of murder in “shadow of a pale horse”. his character, an irish immigrant to australia, is convicted of the murder and hanged. general motors considered the hanging scene so graphic for the time that they yanked their sponsorship for the production, but the cbc aired it anyway and launched dane's career. boosted by the public controversy surrounding that production as well as the praise for his acting, he got a bunch of roles on stage and screen before heading to england in 1963 and adopting the stage name of lawrence dane.

there is a lot to get into from this point on, including all the "pale horse"-related press and an interview with him where he directly addresses the change of name, but that’ll have to be saved for next time. i got copyright-holder permission to obtain a reproduction of “pale horse” but put off actually making the request since i knew i'd be moving very soon and didn’t want to risk mail getting lost in limbo. i have my new mailing address now, so once the dust settles i’ll reach out to LAC about reproductions. look forward to it!
 

miscellanium: photo of lawrence dane from 1973. he is dressed in formal wear and making an animated expression, in the middle of cheerful conversation (dane | the passion of love)

his hair looked soooo soft and fluffy in this episode


the "is it worth watching this for lawrence dane" rating: 4/5

he's not the main antagonist - that would be lloyd bochner's character - but his scenes take up a fair amount of the runtime and he opens and closes the episode as well. it's a nice performance too, appropriately intense but not hammy. also, this episode has one of the most bonkers death scenes i've seen him do and that gives it a full extra point on the worth-it-for-dane scale. like i knew he was gonna die but the way it happens.... i've never seen anything like it elsewhere in such a serious context lmao. maybe i'm just sheltered?? a clip of the scene is included at the end of this post so you can judge for yourself. (uploading the whole episode privately to youtube for autocaptions was a bust because of copyright bullshit, so i paid for captions, but it seems as though very short clips are fine so there's that at least. a dane cut wasn't necessary imo since he's in it enough and the rest is interesting enough especially when lloyd bochner is there.)

the plot: two men are working together as diamond thieves at the behest of someone who knows where and when diamonds will be in transit and thus easy to steal - an inside man. dane plays one of the thieves and lloyd bochner plays the inside man. (they were together again in 'it seemed like a good idea at the time' a couple years after this, though they don't interact as much in that.) dane has something of a homoerotic relationship with his robbery partner, played by a fellow named clyde ventura* - we're given to understand that they met in prison and promised each other that they'd buy a ranch together when they had the money, among other intimate little details, and they seem to be peers but dane cares more about the welfare of his partner than one might expect for the average heist team. (dane could have been fun in an episode of leverage but i digress.)

on the one hand, this show was written in partnership with j. edgar hoover and his top fbi agents, which, yuck. but on the other, the screenwriters give the "bad guys" a surprising amount of depth in this context and it seems pretty clear to me that we're even meant to find the situation somewhat tragic. at least, dane gives us a performance good enough to help us believe he genuinely cares about his partner and the pathos of that carries the episode. the narrative ends pretty abruptly and i wished they'd had the space to dwell a bit on how bochner's character is treated versus the working-class thieves, but at the same time if this was produced under hoover's watch they probably weren't allowed to go that far.

while i was starting to draft this post i was reminded of his performance in his first episode of the virginian (aired 1968) and how he feels less natural there compared to this fbi episode. at first i was thinking oh he must've started hitting his stride in 1969 but no, he was very good in yerma and in his episode of jericho (both aired 1967) among other roles. really makes me think that it comes down to the director, something i think i’ve touched on before - with the right director he can be phenomenal, but that isn’t consistent enough to make someone a star. a shame, because he really does do a decent job with the material he's given in this episode.

since this was a procedural show it’s difficult to find newspaper reviews for individual episodes, but there’s a fansite for the show - that site’s rating for this episode is a B and i think i agree. if you enjoy the style of police procedural that's heavier on investigation than on action, it's a solid episode. if you don't enjoy police procedurals at all, well, understandable. but perhaps you can at least enjoy how cute dane is in this one.

highlight:

(insert the GRRR BARK BARK HHRGRGHH chewing meme image here his clothes were PERFECTLY tailored in this episode it's ridiculous. might as well have just saran-wrapped him)

i'm having trouble getting the youtube embeds to center on the page but oh well.
bad boy with a heart of gold...or diamond? whatever just behold him )
miscellanium: still of lawrence dane as mitzi in rituals (1977) (rituals | put us back together again)

i'm sure it would've been ultra-hip at the time but having to work in this fishtank environment would be terrible imo. looks very cool tho

the "is it worth watching this for lawrence dane" rating: 3/5

dane only has a handful of scenes, but the story and quality of the acting overall means that the rest is still fun to watch imo. the movie itself has gotten mixed reviews - stephen king loved it, apparently, while other critics felt it didn't have much substance. i think that criticism is fair; it does feel like a story where the strength would be in the interior narration, which we lose without having a voiceover or anything like that in the movie. there's a note in the credit that claims no animals were injured, but i'm not a fan of the use of what looks like footage from lab experiments of rats being made to attack each other. that's still animal cruelty, even if it wasn't instigated for this movie specifically.... could be worse tho, i could be watching the beginning of nothing personal again lmao.

the plot: the one-sentence summary would be something like, a classic wall street yuppie stays home to finish a business deal while his family goes on vacation but discovers he's not alone - a giant rat has decided his house is its territory. when it comes to the office setting, this is a very different beast (heh) than films like, say, scanners or american psycho. whatever the corporation is doing, it's nothing blatantly nefarious or parasitic. (i had to look it up - they're investment bankers? so closer to parasitic than not but at least we're shown them actually doing things rather than dicking around like bateman lol.) i've seen people argue that the film is a type of commentary on the "emptiness" of corporate success and i can see where they're coming from, but in my opinion the movie doesn't really lean into that. maybe the book it's based on is more explicit with this theme? the movie feels more like a classic man versus nature narrative, with the setting serving as a means of visual contrast - the clean buttoned-up office appearances vs the disheveled "uncivilized" look main character bart is rocking by the end.

lawrence dane plays eliot riverton, his boss, who seems to be very sympathetic and tolerant of bart's difficulties - up to a point. the last interaction they have, he tells bart to go home before any of the other employees see him like that. he doesn't inquire after what's been happening, but bart also doesn't choose to seek support. in a way it's a very macho movie - he tries to get help from other men who fail and eventually has to take matters into his own hands, alone, and make his home safe for his heterosexual nuclear family. eliot does what he can to support his employee, but.... despite the big company dinner party, there's no real familiarity there between them. so, again, i can see where the social commentary argument comes from, but it seems largely incidental to the actual plot of the movie.

that said, i did enjoy watching this! i've seen it thrice now in different environments and it's held up each time. peter weller of robocop fame gives us a solid performance as the main character and the supporting cast is great as well. it was fun to see louis del grande in the same movie as dane again, lol, and i look forward to seeing him once more in the dane episode of, well, seeing things. the female actresses aren't given a lot to do with their characters imo. jennifer dale as the secretary gets more screen time than the wife, which isn't saying much given the depth of their roles or lack thereof. their acting helps them sell what they're told to hawk. the practical effects with the giant rat are fun and there's a lot of close-ups of cute little rat feet. the overall tone of the movie feels a bit tongue-in-cheek/self-aware at times but not to its detriment. (eliot keeps expressing disapproval of a minor character smoking, which is morbidly amusing to me since afaik dane kept smoking most/all of his life.)

i had to upload the dane cut to the internet archive here, since i guess warner brothers doesn't want people sharing the dinner party scene on youtube? lol whatever. but that means it's not easy for me to include autocaptions or anything like that, since i chose to keep subtitles off when i was editing the original video. the movie isn't hard to find with subtitles/captions though; i checked out a library dvd the first time i watched this, and it's easy to find online whether torrenting or streaming.

highlight:

as a buddy said, "he's presenting himself so sluttily"

miscellanium: (quantum leap | drink up)
movies i've seen for the first time recently that i can remember/may want to revisit soon somehow:
  • god told me to (1976) - watched this a couple months ago, actually, but it's stuck with me. such a great little microcosm of a specific slice of the 1970s. also interesting to compare with the current general attitude towards gun murders in the usa..... and it had really fun devilman vibes though there's no actual connection i know of.
  • crimes of passion (1984) - mostly watched this because "fucked-up preacher man with some kind of sex addiction" is right up my alley. also i was curious about ken russell's later work. it's pulpy fun and anthony perkins really owns the movie. doesn't feel as inspired as some of russell's other work that i've seen, but still some great visuals.
  • speedy (1928) - a charming love letter to both the then-dying and then-evolving versions of new york city, albeit a very white love letter. interesting to compare its depiction of the city with movies like god told me to or the taking of pelham one two three (1974 version, natch).

also rewatched showgirls (1995) and was introduced to the idea that it was intended as satire. if so, the satire misses the mark imo because there's no clear target. pick one and stick with it if you want the commentary to be clear; the rest will follow. it also doesn't help that mclachlan felt like he was in a different movie, lol, and gershon's character felt more developed than the main character. when discussing this with my partner i was comparing it to midnight cowboy (which itself isn't satire but still very much a social commentary) and hope to show that to them soon because they haven't seen it before. it's been a long time since i've watched/read it myself so i'm looking forward to the chance to spend time with those characters again.

i'm also hoping to show them lynch's dune, since it's on the criterion channel through the end of this month. i've seen it once before but want to check it out again now that i know what to expect and won't be totally blindsided by dean stockwell showing up (and no i still haven't seen the new version, though not for lack of interest. just...hasn't worked out for various reasons).

honorable mention goes to the curse of inferno (1997). what a strange movie. in places it's a similar kind of strange as showgirls, with actors seeming as though they're in different movies despite sharing a scene. in a way it's almost as ripe for a cultural studies focus as god told me to, though it does need the additional context of knowing who pauly shore is and his career trajectory.

i also finally put together the dane cut for of unknown origin and now that i'm in a better mood i think i can rate the movie more highly, lol. i'll try to work on that post soon.
miscellanium: (hellsing | awkward)
lmfao. anyway things have been pretty turbulent here (not bad, just a lot with job hunting and everything) but i'm building a nice little backlog of dane material to archive/do writeups of since i was finally able to work things out with the CBC and got some really great stuff. highlights are his turn in a 1967 televised production of frederico garcia lorca's "yerma", co-starring as the titular character's husband, and a copy of "a question of the sixth", a 1980 tv movie with him in a lead role that got him nominated for an acting award. he didn't win since he was up against steep competition (al waxman won...) but still! i'm looking forward to that one a lot once i get it captioned.

i've also been workshopping a new original character with buddies on discord and i think i'll back up some of that brainstorming over on [community profile] angelfeast when i've got a minute. feedback will be welcome there, of course! (update: i did the thing)

but first i want to write a review/mini-essay about a friend's story that i've been thinking about off and on ever since he shared it with me back in november. that'll be a separate post when i have time (probably later today) so look forward to that.
miscellanium: (midnight mass| by the light of the night)
gotta catch up on my inbox/reading page again but for now, since this was fun last time:

Poll #28522 next dane review
Open to: Registered Users, detailed results viewable to: All, participants: 5


what should the next dane post be?

View Answers

bear island (1979, drama/thriller about scientists tangled up in a hunt for nazi gold. the return of dane's half-assed approach to accents, this time in german flavor, and also he wears some fantastic sweaters)
0 (0.0%)

the fbi: inside man (1969 tv episode, he plays a diamond thief with a homoerotic crime partner and also lloyd bochner is there. the choreography of dane's death scene in this one is so unexpected it has to be seen to be believed)
3 (60.0%)

of unknown origin (1983, horror film about a guy's home being invaded by a giant rat. dane has a few scenes as main character peter weller's boss)
2 (40.0%)

other tv episode marked as already-viewed on the masterlist (leave a comment specifying which)
0 (0.0%)





i know i keep stalling on the national lampoon movie but.... i just did a post about an unfunny comedy i really don't want to do another one so soon lmao.

i might do a write-up of the 1965 short 'control of inmates' before any of these just because it's less than 30 minutes and the story behind it is kinda cool, and/or i can revisit 'happy birthday to me' for a more positive assessment like i said i would months ago orz. wish i had more time to devote to all this.... and i also gotta navigate calling the cbc to pay for some more videos. it's bullshit that apparently i can't use relay to make outbound international calls. fuck deaf people with any international business or friends i guess. but they might be able to call me? i'll have to see if they're willing to work with me on this, lol, or if i need to recruit a hearing person to help out. tedious, but it should be worth it in the end....
miscellanium: an array of colorful typewriters (typewriter tip tip tip)

(i edited out my name from the letter but this was a sweet addition to the magazine delivery)
 

i got my physical contributor's copy of ofic mag #4 at the end of january so, as promised, here's my write-up of the overall process i went through from submission to publication. the story was submitted on october 21, 2022, and the acceptance was received on november 18.

first off, i'd like to note that beth and amber (head editor and managing editor respectively) were both very accommodating while still feeling professional. i also had correspondence with hannah, the fiction editor, but that seems to have been mostly limited to the initial acceptance and any further email correspondence. (it's possible hannah was involved with the edits too but since they were all made under the name of "ofic magazine" i don't know who suggested what for most of the notes.) when they sent me the notice that my story had been accepted, they included some basic feedback and proposed edits. this was par for the course with my previous lit mag experience, but they also asked if beth could speak with me about the story before going in depth with the edits - beth said, in the acceptance email, that she had questions about the world-building and wrote that "I know this is unconventional, but I don't want to give you a bunch of off-base edits if my interpretation of certain details is totally wrong. I also don't want to presume I know what's best for the story without having a more holistic understanding of your intentions for it."

while, yes, that's pretty unusual, i was flattered that they accepted the story in the first place instead of being like "okay this is too niche/esoteric, into the slush pile it goes" haha. it was originally written for a friend whose character is featured in the story alongside mine, to celebrate the one-year anniversary of our creative relationship, so it assumed knowledge of several details that had been discussed privately or developed via roleplaying and the like. i did try to expand on some of these details before submitting but clearly not enough - when you spend that much time with a concept/story it can be easy to forget what all would be important for outsiders to know. so beth's request seemed entirely reasonable and it meant a lot to me that they'd accepted the story anyway. the $25 honorarium was sent immediately after i completed the requisite paperwork.

we ended up chatting via discord, where i explained the backdrop of the story and answered any questions she had. she'd originally asked for a zoom/video call but when i said i preferred text chat due to being deaf and all she had no problem working with that. i made it clear i was willing to consider any editorial suggestions but even then when the edits were made (via google docs) there were notes along the lines of "i think [x edit] would be good to help with the pacing, but feel free to ignore my suggestions if you think they don't work." for the most part i felt like the suggested edits were good ones; the few edits that i ignored or handled differently than the suggestion mostly had to do with punctuation or phrasing that would have changed the intended meaning/ambiguity of a given line. i did ask about the title being in latin or english, since i'd submitted it with both as options, but never received a response so i guess the latin-without-translation was fine since that's what got printed.

the editing process was very much a "kill your darlings" experience, haha; i was told that the pacing and structure i originally had would work wonderfully as part of a larger novel, but short stories need to have snappier pacing so it'd be better for me to take out passages where i lingered on the details of my character's travels (walking through chicago, etc). i agreed, along with rearranging the first couple scenes to make the in media res beginning even more so per their suggestions.

it was a pretty tight turnaround, especially with the extent of the edits they were asking for - as mentioned the acceptance was on 11/18, i made contact with beth on 11/19, and we didn't get to the q&a until 11/21. the first round of line edits was sent to me on 11/30 and they were hoping for edits to be completed by 12/9, giving me basically a week to finish going through everything. i crammed most of the revisions into the weekend and did end up asking for an extension to 12/11 because one of the second- or third-round edits was especially challenging for me to address. (i have to thank [personal profile] pendulumscale here for their patience and willingness to let me bounce some ideas off of them without them having read the whole story, lol.) for the record they did say they could give me longer than a week if necessary, but i was able to fit in some editing time while i was at work, haha, so it ended up not being an issue for me. i did keep backup copies of different stages of editing so if/when i revisit the story for a bigger project i have points of comparison that i can use to decide how to handle things. the typeset proof was sent to me on 12/22, final edits were concluded by 12/27, and the issue went live on january 1. all contributors were sent a digital copy of the magazine in three different formats, with the physical copy to follow.

the only real conflict - pseud vs legal name )
miscellanium: izzy hands from our flag means death, middle finger raised, against a backdrop of grey clouds (ofmd | middle-finger salute)
 i changed my password after the announcement of livejournal password hacks and then promptly forgot it lmao. my stubborn ass didn't want to change it AGAIN but i finally caved because this was getting ridiculous. so i'm back!

anyway. my copy of ofic magazine arrived at the end of january so now that's all wrapped up, i'll write about my experience with them as promised. currently working on a dane review of it seemed like a good idea at the time (oof) so the ofic post will be after that.

got into a project i'm excited about, if a little nervous - not because of the content, though yeah i'd rather not get publicly cancelled again if i can help it lol. no, i'm just nervous because everyone else in it seems so talented! and i do have an idea for what i want to contribute, but it sounds pretty ambitious compared to some of the ideas i'm seeing kicked around and we don't have word count limits or anything yet which means i might need to change the scope of my story.... the beginning of the story came to me yesterday so i jotted that down but otherwise i'm mostly sitting on my hands and watching&waiting. my "homework" list for this project in the meantime is to re-read my favorite work of stalag fiction, go down aaron (freely available on archive.org!) and watch/re-watch a handful of movies like the night porter and so on.

speaking of watching things, i saw skinamarink because some italian buddies of mine wanted to see it and they don't have access to shudder. i went into it knowing the plot outline and that it was described as an experimental film, which likely affected my perception of it. a lot of the harshest criticism i've seen seems to be coming from people who didn't realize it was experimental? or the marketing campaign misrepresented it? not sure. but to me it is very obviously an arthouse film, and it does some intriguing things with camera angles - forcing a sense of unreality/disorientation, etc. i didn't look at the screen when the distorted faces were happening so i can't speak to that part of it lol. i was a little confused since the trailer i was shown said something about 1973 but the movie takes place in the 1990s? and i agree with [personal profile] pendulumscale that they could have done more interesting visual effects if they'd used actual physical film, like a vhs camcorder or something, since it is set in the 90s and all. there's a depth of color missing from skinamarink that would have been there if they'd used film rather than just editing the digital movie in post. watching the original amityville horror right afterwards really emphasized that.

i hadn't seen any of the amityville movies before, only heard the basic concept referenced, and the original is a fun enough movie. the way they shot the house to look like a skull was a nice touch. the pacing was good, practical effects were neat, music score was of course great (lalo schifrin!), and some very solid performances. i was scandalized by how much james brolin walked around half-naked, my goodness (not that i'm complaining lol). the youngest priest looked like jack black in his first couple scenes which was really immersion-breaking ljkhdsdsf but overall i enjoyed the movie! the priest played by murray hamilton reminded me of my oc so that was entertaining. the fact that it was based on a true story (the initial murders, not the haunting) and produced not even five years after the fact makes some interesting food for thought, especially with the aforementioned group project being predicated on an especially controversial genre of exploitation fiction - where does exploitation become tacky/disrespectful? obviously this can be a bit subjective, but it's still worth it for people to at least determine their personal boundaries on this matter.
miscellanium: image of a man with large glasses and ear-length brown hair. he is wearing a brown suit and sweater and is standing in a forest. his head is tilted up slightly. (jarvis | go tell it to the trees)
yoinked a custom mood theme off ye olde livejournal (source post here). i used to have a really cute one of kawamura takashi from prince of tennis on my lj but it seems to have been nuked. thanks photobucket. at least this one is fun too.

watched a japanese horror film last night with the english title of "bloody muscle body builder in hell" on shudder. entertaining little thing - only an hour long - and very clearly a love letter to the evil dead film(s). seemed as though there were also some oblique references to reanimator but i could be wrong.... then again, decapitating someone with a shovel is pretty specific, isn't it? ditto a foot attached to another limb vis-a-vis bride of reanimator? or am i just Uncultured? at any rate i had fun, even if the movie did a couple things on my "thanks i hate this" list wrt things that keep me awake at night.

i really don't like jerky head movements, especially if they're at an unnatural speed, and i also don't like sudden loud noises/music cues at a specific pitch. the latter is related to my inability to tolerate a very specific kind of throat sound, lol, because for whatever reason my hearing aids just. cannot process it in a way that sounds organic to me. nope. cannot do it. (yes, i've watched the original grudge movie, yes every single fucking time that sound happened i just turned off my h/as until i was told it was over. No Thanks.) i'm also pretty susceptible to visual jump scares, even if i can guess they're coming, and when the movie ends with one.... wonderful. super nice. won't keep me awake at all.

other than that the movie was really enjoyable! the practical effects were so fun, as were the stop-motion/painted animation bits, and i loved how i could feel the passion in it all. would i watch it again? PROBABLY NOT LOL. but i'll definitely recommend it to others!

i also rewatched tommy recently, i don't remember why now - something about a conversation with [personal profile] pendulumscale and wanting to show it to them just so they'd have that context - and i did NOT realize that fucking father grandier is in it! i didn't recognize him when i watched the devils even though i'd seen tommy first (same director!) but it was kinda surreal this time around knowing the actor. he doesn't do a bad job in tommy at all, though i do think he gives a better performance in the devils. but when i was watching tommy with whim i realized that i didn't remember the latter half of the film at all. it just isn't as compelling once it gets into the cult narrative, which is a bit ironic imo considering that ken russell apparently agreed to direct because he liked the cult element. it just falls apart narratively imo, and that might be partly due to how it handles disability. it was really weird the first time around, and let me tell you it's even weirder the second time around because i was more sober and could tell they weren't even trying to use british sign language. yas qween use crips as props more! groundbreaking!!1 everything before tommy gets his sight/hearing back is great visually so idk wtf happened after that. (yeah there's the revival church scene in the first half but that felt a little less yikes to me personally because of the context, with his mother trying to ~cure~ him and it being framed as misguided, vs the context of the scene where tommy's preaching to the disabled people because...??? idk why that was necessary to include lmao)

i do remember whim making a couple comments to the effect of "if i were high right now this scene would probably be amazing" and y'know what? they weren't wrong. but even high i was like :| at some of it lol. maybe i just don't find exploitation narratives interesting when they move into religious territory, or when they use disabled people as visual props? like, i love iscariot in hellsing, they're my favorite part of the whole thing, but my interest is in the characters rather than the exploitation aspect. hm. Food For Thought, i suppose.

was gonna start taking screencaps for my next dane review (a good idea at the time/find the lady, per that poll i ran a while back) but got sidetracked uploading the custom mood theme. that took longer than i thought it would! while in adhd hell yesterday when trying to work from home i found some mixed/positive reviews for those movies so that was interesting, since until now i'd only seen bad ones. thank you [redacted local library] for providing premium access to newspapers.com. do be sure to check out your local library's database offerings in case they have free access for a database you'd find interesting/useful! the website kept 404ing when i tried to follow results for two specific papers, which was very frustrating because one of the results sounded like it included him discussing why he switched from zahab to dane, but oh well. i sent in support requests so we'll see what comes of that.

i did see that shudder has castle freak, but whim wasn't interested in a more serious movie and jeffrey combs/barbara crampton being in it wasn't enough of a sell, alas. hoping to watch it tomorrow with a good friend who's a combs stan - their enthusiasm is infectious. speaking of reanimator&c - check out this super cool post by [personal profile] tempural about an artwork i commissioned from them. i love hill/west and jumped at the chance to get a valentine's day commission from them because i love their art and knew they'd have fun with the premise of my request. i wanna write more hill/west this year! fuck the people on tungle who get mad if your gay reanimator ship isn't danbert. it isn't my fault david gale is mega sexy!

anyway, time to log into eso and dick around in advance of the elsweyr event starting next week. my absolute favorite expansion... next post of mine on here should be a review of find the lady. pray for my adhd. thanks.
miscellanium: still of lawrence dane as mitzi in rituals (1977) overlooking a dramatic landscape (rituals | pray for us sinners)
Snowflake Challenge promotional banner featuring feet in snuggly socks, a mug of hot chocolate, a notebook with 'dreams' written on the cover, and a guitar. Text: Snowflake Challenge January 1-31.


i talked a lot about lawrence dane in 2022 without actually taking the time to explain why him of all actors. granted, the posts in my rituals tag get into most of it, but the snowflake challenge made me realize it'd be a good idea to have it all in one place instead of spread out across reviews&c. that way i have a nice little introduction to link at the top of the review masterpost!


b&w image of lawrence dane at an awards dinner in the 1970s
(photo by keith beaty for the toronto star, 1973)
 

lawrence joseph zahab was born april 3, 1937 to two lebanese immigrants in a town in quebec, canada, and raised in ottawa. he grew up very involved in his community - playing high school football, emceeing local events, trying out impersonations at talent shows, and eventually acting in community theater. he was the youngest of six children and his father died suddenly when he was just finishing high school. since he wasn't the oldest son and therefore didn't face the same expectations to care for his mother and sister, he had enough freedom to travel and pursue his interest in acting. he started out credited as larry or lawrence zahab but switched to using lawrence dane as a stage name during the mid-to-late 1960s, when he began focusing on television and film productions outside of canada. in his private life he seems to have always gone by larry. he had several friends, most notably canadian icon gordon pinsent, but stayed a bachelor most of his life; he appears to have been largely single or only had short-lived relationships until 1995, when he wedded a woman named mary laurel macintosh in las vegas. they stayed together until his death of pancreatic cancer on march 21, 2022 and they don't seem to have had any children, but by all accounts he was a lovely uncle to his extended family of nieces and nephews.

his most well-known roles are as braedon keller in scanners (1981) and as lt. preston in bride of chucky (1998). he was a not-infrequent guest on american television in the '60s and '70s, and he was in a handful of early john candy films. if you're a canadian over the age of 30 or 40, you've likely encountered him on television at some point, whether in a drama, sitcom, or advertisement.

what's so interesting about this guy anyway? )

so that's lawrence dane! as always i'm happy to answer any questions you might have, or to just fawn over him together lol. thanks for reading ^^
miscellanium: (midnight mass | leave the flowers&beauty)
what a busy winter holiday season. not busy in terms of socializing (covid precautions...) but i had to finish up edits for the magazine publication and then i got a fair amount of personal writing done. nothing quite completed yet, but since they're both xmas/nye-themed i'd like to have them done by the end of this month, lol. i've also been enjoying playing elder scrolls online again - my laptop finally stopped being able to run it back over the summer, but after i built a new pc it runs so fucking smooth it's a whole different experience. still trying to figure out why my pc keeps rebooting instead of staying asleep but it's not a huge problem yet, just a pain in the ass.

it was tough spending yet another batch of holidays away from my family, since i am on good terms with them, but i'm still trying to find a new job that'll put me close enough to make day trips feasible. at least i could do some things online with them, and watch things together with friends via discord. finally got around to seeing the first episode of our flag means death and it was honestly just as funny as people made it out to be. i'll have to watch more soon. i also bought my partner a single by a local musician for hanukkah (we only exchange gifts on the first night) and it was cool comparing how it sounded on our record player to when we've seen him perform it live.

one really nice holiday treat (for me, anyway) was a new ebay listing for a press photo/lobby card i hadn't seen before. the seller also had a listing for the scanners lobby card with dane on it, but they only do reproductions so i hadn't felt like it was worth buying. this new photo, though, hasn't been posted anywhere else and it was covered in watermarks so obviously my only choice was to buy it (and grab a copy of the scanners one while i was at it). i don't know why this seller won't just list the original because it's not like anyone else would want it lmao. nobody likes running (1979)...or if they do, they don't like it for dane. i get the impression that he might've had a scene or two that were cut from the final production, or from the version of the movie i found anyway, since i also have a press photo of a scene that i don't remember seeing in the movie. i have a lot of press photos/lobby cards, lol.

collection of lobby cards and press photos meant to aid in publicity for various movies lawrence dane was in (find the lady, rituals, the clown murders, happy birthday to me, bear island, running, scanners) and a flattened vhs sleeve for the heatwave lasted four days.
the new find is the big pic at the bottom right. it arrived right before the winter storm that shut things down across multiple states, so that was exciting. (the apparent deleted scene is the small photo that's left of the light switches, which you can view properly here. i also tried to scan the new one, but my scanner isn't quite big enough so i had to try and composite it lol. i think i did ok, considering.)

i call this my "panorama of dane" because my mother and her friend, during their teen years, were obsessed with joel grey in cabaret and went to all these stage performances of his and collected various memorabilia that they called their panorama of joel. there's a polaroid of them displaying their panorama and it was really a quite impressive collection, lol, much larger than what i have. i should put these in frames at some point, but i'd have to get a custom frame for a lot of them so that isn't happening (yet). the main thing was just having something nice to look at when i'm shackled to my telework desk. there's a couple other photos i could include but i'd have to get them printed. other than those i thought my collection was finished, especially since none of the lobby cards for nothing personal includes him, but, well... i look forward to potentially being proven wrong yet again.

i'm not going to make any new year's resolutions - i just want to write more and finish another story with an eye towards publication. signed up for the [community profile] ygorarepairs reverse minibang and might try to sign up for other fan events, but one thing i'd like to do this year is keep my goals realistic so i don't try to take on too much. i also want to do more dane reviews/research! there's one i started drafting last year and i'll have to finish it soon so we can ring in the new year with a short film where he has like three sex scenes within 20 minutes. it's so much...........

here's hoping everyone's new year is off to a good start!

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 02:31 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios